Skip to content

Lord, Meet Me in the Laundry Room

September 20, 2011

In my school work, one of my professors told us about his trip to London and visiting John Wesley’s apartment. Wesley had a room measuring about 4 foot by 4 foot off of his bedroom. Wesley would get up every morning at 4:00 am everyday and go into this small chamber to pray. That’s right. This little room was his prayer closet. Early Methodists called this room “The powerhouse of Methodism”. So you and I, indeed everyone who claims the name of Methodist owes our identity to that little man in that little room praying for an hour every morning. Then from 5-6am everyday he would spend in study of the scriptures, 6-7am was a worship service, and from 7-10am he and whoever was at his home spent the time in devotional reading of the church fathers.

I know that there are people in the church who get up early every morning to pray and study scriptures and I can tell you with great assurance that I am not one of them. I need every second of sleep that I am currently getting, but I still am in need with that time alone with God. So when I heard about Wesley and his prayer closet- and I took it as a place where a believer could find the solutions to the weightiest problems, a place that maybe if I had it, I could make my quiet time with God come true. It really bothered me that I wasn’t spending an hour or so in the morning in prayer and scripture reading and that I didn’t have a prayer closet to visit. I looked around my house, since it is certainly big enough to have a little prayer closet for me to go to and spend time with God.

Unfortunately as I looked around for some previously uncharted territory to claim as my own, I could find nowhere with the sustained privacy necessary for even a prayer shoebox. In a 131 year old house there are precious few closets and ours are all stuffed to the gills. To open one of our closets, does involve a lot of praying, since there is a very real possibility of being crushed in an avalanche, and I quickly close the door, but I don’t think that’s what Matthew 6:6 means when it says “ But whenever you pray, go into your closet and shut the door and pray to your Father who is in secret; and your Father who sees in secret will reward you.” So an actual closet is out of the question.

When I was a new mom, I had older more experienced mothers tell me to put a devotional booklet like “Our Daily Bread” and bible in the bathroom since as a new mom, that is the only place that you may sit down and be alone in a day. Let me tell you, those women LIED! I have not been alone in the bathroom since 1993! With seven children at home and a husband, I do at least four loads of laundry a day in order to keep up with the dirty laundry and as I was in the laundry room one day, I was complaining to God that I didn’t have a time and place to pray alone and “What are you doing now?” was wordlessly impressed upon my heart. “Hmmm, talking to God and that would be praying…” So now I am happy to report that my laundry room is now my prayer closet. God knows to meet me in the laundry room. Usually when I go to do laundry I am left alone, too! Amazingly no one is in a hurry to help do laundry and so at least four times a day, everyday I have unhurried time with God.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Kathy Bacon permalink
    September 25, 2011 1:51 am

    Love it! I was one of those mom’s that kept her bible in the bathroom but alas I only had two children and I could lock the door! LOL! The laundry room – now that is unique!

    Kathy

Leave a Reply

